Cambridge ICE is a group award at the upper secondary level. It allows for the offering of a broad and balanced curriculum by recognising the achievements of learners who pass examinations in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects from five different subject groups, including two different languages, mathematics and Cambridge Global Perspectives. This award provides technical and foundational access to the Advanced International Certificate of Education (AICE), the Cambridge award that facilitates seamless access to higher education and/or entry to the workplace. Learners who enrol at Ivy Academy for the ICE will be counselled on subject selections based on their post-school intentions and in relation to selection requirements for the AICE.   Cambridge Assessment International Education is affiliated with Cambridge University and has offered international school awards for over 160 years. Renowned globally, the Cambridge awards are recognised for the high standards set and the curriculum rigour. 


Cambridge ICE is awarded to students who pass in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects, including two from Group 1 and one from each of Groups 2 to 5. The seventh subject may be chosen from any of the syllabus groups. Students who qualify for the Cambridge ICE award will be placed in one of three categories:

Distinction  - Grade A or higher in five subjects and grade C or better in two subjects.
Merit - Grade C or higher in five subjects and grade F or better in two subjects.
Pass - Grade G or higher in seven subjects.

Students enter and sit for a minimum of seven subjects selected from the five IGCSE curriculum areas:

Group 1 – Languages
Group 2 - Humanities 
Group 3 - Sciences
Group 4 - Mathematics
Group 5 - Creative and Vocational

How to qualify for the Cambridge ICE certificate

Students can qualify for Cambridge ICE over two series provided they take place within a period of 13 months. This would mean from June to the following November or June; or from November to the following June or November. Students who achieve ICE in one series will receive an ICE Statement of Results and two separate IGCSE and ICE Certificates. Two series ICE students will receive a certificate for the individual subjects taken at the end of the first series and two separate IGCSE and ICE certificates at the end of the second series.

Why should a learner study this award at Ivy Academy?

The Cambridge curriculum develops individuals who embody the attributes of confidence, responsibility, reflection, innovation and engagement. At Ivy Academy, our approach to education emphasises the interrelationship between knowing, doing and being, elevating the student’s learning experience. Our approach cultivates the individual’s ability to command the fundamentals of subject areas. Our institutional and programmatic commitment to robust quality assurance mechanisms is well established and will be leveraged to oversee the Cambridge award offerings. In choosing the Cambridge curriculum at Ivy Academy, we believe learners will be exposed to the best practices of a global curriculum framed within the context of Africa. To this potent mix, Ivy will bring the considerable skills of educators deeply rooted in and passionate about transformative education. Our unique offering extends to include 47 learner support centres located countrywide, so there is a friendly face to welcome you to the Ivy family, a space to study when needed, access to ICT, and a location to complete assessment events close to home. As of 2022, the Learner Support Centres are registered Assessment Venues for Ivy Academy Cambridge International learners. The fees for the Cambridge awards include all textbooks and workbooks and the international examination fees. We are offering a value exchange that is highly competitive.

Minimum Entry Requirements

At a minimum, candidates must turn 14 years old in the year of first enrolment, and have a Grade 7 or equivalent. Candidates 14 or older with a Grade 8 are also well placed to join the ICE award.​ 

Important Note for Parents/Guardians of ICE Candidates

The Cambridge ICE award at Ivy Academy is an alternative to the traditional contact public/private schooling provision and is therefore considered a part of the ‘home-schooling’ structure. To this end, please take note that as per South African policy, parents/guardians of South African candidates must fulfil the following requirements:   in the instance of the ICE, i.e. Grades 7 to 9 and ages 13 to 16, parents are required to register their children as ‘home-schooled’ with the Provincial Department of Education in the province in which they reside. Ivy will provide you with a registration pack and a portfolio of evidence to support the registration and required reporting on the learner’s progress in the ICE curriculum. In the instance of the AICE, i.e. Grades 10 to 12 and ages 16 to 18, and in the event that parents are required to register their learners as ‘home-schooled’ with the Provincial Department of Education, Ivy will provide you with a registration pack and a portfolio of evidence to support the registration and required reporting on the learner’s progress in the AICE curriculum.   It is very important to note that this is a legal requirement and the onus is on the parents to register their child as ‘home-schooled’. Please note that each province has a different application process. Please visit this link and follow the registration instructions from there:   
For international learners (those who are not South African citizens and not resident in South Africa) the onus is on the parent/guardian to determine the legal requirements applicable in your country.  

Important Note for Applicants not resident in South Africa

We accept enrolment from anywhere in the world for the ICE, however, examinations must be sat at a Cambridge registered assessment venue in your home country. You will need to source the assessment venue yourself and the examination fees will be for your own account. Our quoted fees are calculated as an all-inclusive and thus we cannot offer discounts in the event that our registered assessment venues are not utilised.