Ivy Academy adheres to the National Curriculum Statement (NCS) which is the South African National Education Curriculum and Policy.

The College offers the FET band of secondary education which includes Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12. Learners can choose from the following subjects in Grade 10, Grade 11 and Grade 12:  

  • English (Home Language)
  • Afrikaans (First Additional Language)
  • Zulu (First Additional language)
  • Mathematics
  • Maths literacy
  • Life Sciences
  • Physical Science
  • Geography
  • History
  • Accounting
  • Business Studies
  • Economics
  • Life Orientation

The National Education System stipulates that four subjects are compulsory: English as a Home Language is a compulsory subject; a First Additional Language is compulsory – learners can choose between Afrikaans and Zulu; either Mathematics or Maths Literacy is compulsory; Life Orientation is compulsory,

A remainder of three subjects should be selected from the list in order to complete Grade 12. Once subjects have been selected it is very difficult, but not impossible, to change them in Grade 10 and Grade 11. Once learners have been registered to write Matric in specific subjects it is impossible to change.

When choosing subjects learners should consider what tertiary education and careers they will follow. Subjects should be chosen very carefully. A learner advisor at Ivy Academy can be contacted to assist in this regard.


Share this page: